News All Articles
Updated exemptions confirmed for the 149th Open at Royal St George's

Updated exemptions confirmed for the 149th Open at Royal St George's

The R&A has confirmed that its exemption categories for The 149th Open have been updated for the Championship, which will take place at Royal St George’s from 11-18 July 2021.

Royal St George's Golf Club

All existing exemptions achieved before the date of The 149th Open being cancelled this year are being honoured, meaning that 106 golfers have already earned a place in the Championship.

The remaining 50 places will now be determined by updated exemption categories which can be viewed via
Players will also have opportunities to earn places in The 149th Open through Regional and Final Qualifying which will take place in June 2021. More information will be provided when entries are opened for golfers next year.
Johnnie Cole-Hamilton, Executive Director – Championships at The R&A said, “We believe that it is important to honour all of the exemptions that were confirmed before The 149th Open was cancelled this year and so we are in a unique situation where a large number of players have already qualified and are in the field. 
“In light of these exceptional circumstances, we have carefully reviewed our exemption categories and made adjustments so that players can earn places in the Championship from results achieved in both the 2020 and 2021 seasons as well as retaining opportunities through our qualifying events.”
As a result of the changes made to the exemption categories for The 149th Open, it has been agreed with the professional tours that qualifying places will no longer be offered at the remaining events originally scheduled as part of The Open Qualifying Series for 2020.
The full list of exemptions for The 149th Open at Royal St George’s is now available on

List of exemptions

Open Champions aged 60 or under on 19 July 2020

Mark Calcavecchia, Ian Baker-Finch, John Daly, Justin Leonard, Paul Lawrie, Tiger Woods, David Duval, Ernie Els, Ben Curtis, Todd Hamilton, Padraig Harrington, Stewart Cink, Louis Oosthuizen, Darren Clarke, Phil Mickelson, Rory McIlroy, Zach Johnson, Henrik Stenson, Jordan Spieth, Francesco Molinari, Shane Lowry


The Open Champions for 2010-2019

2010 - Louis Oosthuizen, 2011 - Darren Clarke, 2012 - Ernie Els, 2013 - Phil Mickelson, 2014 - Rory McIlroy, 2015 - Zach Johnson, 2016 - Henrik Stenson, 2017 - Jordan Spieth, 2018 - Francesco Molinari, 2019 - Shane Lowry


First 10 and anyone tying for 10th place in The 148th Open at Royal Portrush in 2019

Shane Lowry, Tommy Fleetwood, Tony Finau, Brooks Koepka, Lee Westwood, Rickie Fowler, Robert MacIntyre, Tyrrell Hatton, Danny Willett, Patrick Reed


The first 50 players on the OWGR for Week 21, 2021

To be taken from the Official World Golf Rankings on May 23 2021


The first 30 in the final Race to Dubai rankings for 2019

Jon Rahm, Tommy Fleetwood, Bernd Wiesberger, Shane Lowry, Matt Fitzpatrick, Rory McIlroy, Matt Wallace, Louis Oosthuizen, Tyrrell Hatton, Erik van Rooyen, Robert MacIntyre, Marcus Kinhult, Victor Perez, Kurt Kitayama, Danny Willett, Benjamin Hebert, Matthias Schwab, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Mike Lorenzo-Vera, Jorge Campillo, Sergio Garcia, Paul Waring, Rafa Cabrera-Bello, Romain Langasque, Joost Luiten, Justin Harding, Ian Poulter, Paul Casey, Haotong Li, Francesco Molinari

The first 10 in the final Race to Dubai rankings for 2020

Lee Westwood, Matt Fitzpatrick, Patrick Reed, Tommy Fleetwood, Collin Morikawa, Victor Perez, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Aaron Rai, Tyrrell Hatton, Louis Oosthuizen


THE BMW PGA Championship winners for 2017-2020

2017 - Alex Noren, 2018 - Francesco Molinari, 2019 - Danny Willett, 2020 - Tyrrell Hatton


The first 5 European Tour members and any European Tour members tying for fifth place, not otherwise exempt, in the top 20 of the Race to Dubai rankings on completion of the 2021 BMW International Open.

TBC following the BMW International Open on June 27 2021


The U.S. Open Champions for 2016-2021

2016 - Dustin Johnson, 2017 & 2018 - Brooks Koepka, 2019 - Gary Woodland, 2020 - Bryson DeChambeau, 2021 - TBC on 20 June 2021


The Masters Champions for 2016-2021

2016 - Danny Willett, 2017 - Sergio Garcia, 2018 - Patrick Reed, 2019 - Tiger Woods, 2020 - Dustin Johnson, 2021 - TBC on 11 Apr 2021


The PGA Champions for 2015-2021

2015 - Jason Day, 2016 - Jimmy Walker, 2017 - Justin Thomas, 2018 & 2019 - Brooks Koepka, 2020 - Collin Morikawa, 2021 - TBC on 23 May 2021


The PLAYERS Champions for 2018-2021

2018 - Webb Simpson, 2019 - Rory McIlroy, 2020 - Cancelled, 2021 - TBC on 14 Mar 2021

Read next